Mozart's Requiem
—Orfeó Català


HALSEY, Simon (c) Ricardo Rios Visual Art


Mireia Tarragó, soprano
Tànit Bono,
César Cortés,
Elías Arranz,
Orfeó Català 
Orquestra Simfònica del Vallès
Simon Halsey, conductor

Pere Faura, stage director


W. A. Mozart: Requiem in D minor, K. 626


Until now the person in charge of the formation, Simon Halsey, says goodbye to the artistic direction of the Orfeó Català presenting his most personal and daring version of Mozart's Requiem, under the guidance of set designer Pere Faura, in a long-awaited co-production with the Grec Festival de Barcelona, the Orfeó Català and the Orquestra Simfònica del Vallès.

The British director, who from the 2022-2023 season will be the main guest conductor and ambassador of the Orfeó Català choirs, will offer a courageous and semi-staged version of Mozart's Requiem. The Requiem Mass in D minor was the last work that Mozart composed and probably the most performed in his entire catalogue, not only for its quality but also for all the legend that surrounds it.

For the Orfeó, this work always has a special weight, because it was the first work that the choir interpreted now 76 years ago, when it resumed activity after the stoppage caused by the Spanish Civil War.

The Orquestra Simfònica del Vallès is already a regular collaborator with the Orfeó. Every year they do joint projects, and precisely the last time the Orfeó performed Mozart's Requiem it was accompanied by the OSV, now 10 years ago.

The Orfeó Català is one of the leading amateur choirs in the country, with a long history that begins in 1891; the formation was founded by Lluís Millet and Amadeu Vives. The objective that encouraged them was to make known the Catalan and universal choral repertoire with the utmost excellence, a task that the Orfeó Català has more than fulfilled, since it has taken its repertoire to stages around the world and has been directed by great musical personalities from diverse eras ranging from Richard Strauss and Camille Saint Saens, to Daniel Baremboin and Gustavo Dudamel, to mention just a few.

A co-production of the Grec 2022 Festival de Barcelona and la Fundació Orfeó Català - Palau de la Música Catalana.

Special offer

Audio guide tour (6.30 pm) + Concert (8 pm)

Enjoy a tour to discover the history and construction of the only modernist World Heritage Hall by UNESCO (6.30 pm), and a concert (8 pm)
Attention: you must bring your own headphones for the audio guide

Special price of € 45. (second floor)

Buy here

Information and tickets

Production sessions

  • 15 July 2022
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:from 18 to 56 €
Approximate:60 minutes (aprox)
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música and Grec Festival de Barcelona

Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Saturday: from 9 am to 9 pm.
  • Sunday and public holidays: from 9.30 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).


Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017